The History of the Theta Omicron Chapter

The Beginning

On May 8, 1976, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Theta Omicron Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. was chartered by eight men seeking an organization striving towards achievement. These eight men, from diverse backgrounds, united to form a chapter that has grown and prospered over the years.

Prior to the chartering of the chapter, twelve men were initiated under the guidance of the Alpha Kappa Chapter of North Carolina Central University in 1975 to form a colony. Thurston E. Frazier, Reynauld M. Williams, Raymond A. McAllister, Charles D. Watts, Perry Hodge, Gregory Reid, Winfred Falls, and Sidney H. Evans were members of the Spring Semester 1975 pledge class (our eight founders & charter brothers). Alex D. Sharpless, Gregory L. Molden, James N. Brewer and Louis A. Newsome pledged during the Fall Semester of 1975 (charter brothers). These twelve men operated as an independent colony at UNC-Chapel Hill for their first year as a moratorium existed for new fraternities.

Thurston E. Frazier served as Polemarch during this time of transition. After proving Kappa Alpha Psi’s dedication to improvement of campus life, the Theta Omicron Chapter was established in 1976 becoming the 205th chapter in the fraternity. Gordon T. Cureton, Dewey M. Clayton, Barry S. Stanback, Spencer A. Wynne, and DeSota A. Wilson, known as Spirit/Mellow Madness, were the first pledges initiated under the Theta Omicron Chapter in December of 1976.

Over the years, over 200 individuals have been initiated into Kappa Alpha Psi through the Theta Omicron Chapter. Amongst these men are many Morehead Scholars, Pogue Scholars, Chancellor Scholars and other scholarship holders. Since initiation, numerous brothers have gone on to prominent careers in medicine, law, technology, sports and business.


Several distinguished brothers have served as Theta Omicron’s chapter advisor. They include the illustrious Laurel Wreath recipient Howard C. Barnhill*, Hayden Renwick, C.N. “Pap” Parrish, Elbert Avery, Anthony Walters, and Dr. Archie Ervin. The current chapter advisor is Monte Evans.

Theta Omicron Influence

During the early years of the chapter, Theta Omicron was instrumental in the establishment of the Iota Xi Chapter of Duke University in 1979, the Kappa Xi Chapter of North Carolina State University in 1980 and the Mu Iota Chapter of The University of North Carolina at Greensboro in 1984.

Awards and Recognition

Through the years the Theta Omicron has been extremely active in the Middle Eastern Province. The Theta Omicron Chapter has produced seven Junior Vice Polemarchs, three Provincial Strategus, one Lt. Strategus, and six executive board members. The chapter has also produced eight Undergraduate Kappa Man of the Year awards, five of which were won consecutively from 1993-1997, and most recently in 2009. In 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004 and 2009 the Theta Omicron Chapter was named MEP Undergraduate Chapter of the Year.  Also, the chapter was named the 2013 NPHC Step Show Champions at the annual Homecoming Step Show at UNC-Chapel Hill.

In 1990 the chapter was named a “Super Builder” for the new International Headquarters of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. At the 70th Grand Conclave in Orlando, Florida, Brothers Kenneth Pugh and Kevin Davis were awarded the Guy Levis Grant Award and the Byron Kenneth Armstrong Award respectively. This marked the first time in the history of Kappa Alpha Psi that two members of the same chapter received the two highest undergraduate awards in the same year.

Chapter Polemarchs

Charles D. Watts (1976-77)
Darrell Sharpless (1977-78)
Barry S. Stanback (1978-79)
Wayne Davis (1979-80)
Kelvin Harris (1980-81)
Elbert Avery (1981-82)
Adrian Douglass (1982-83)
Kevin Jones (1983-84)
Kenneth Flowers (1984-85)
Roy Flood (1985-86)
Anthony Martin (1986-87)
William Lawrence (1987-88)
Kevin Mason (1988-89)
Kenneth Pugh (1989-90)
Kevin Davis (1990-91)
Karlton Pettis (1991-92)
Maurice Bennett (1992-93)
Hans Yeates (1993-1994)
Carlos Pauling (1994-1995)
Johnnie Artis (1995-1996)
Terry Deas (1996-1997)
Adam Gantt (1997-1998)
Will Alston (1999-00)
Courtney Hill (2000-01)
Bonswa Banks (2001-02)
Matt Jackson (2002-03)
Andre Wesson (2003-04)
James Turrentine (2004-05)
Blake Cole (2005-06)
Eric Butcher (2006-07)
Peyton Harris (2007-08)
Daryl Porter II (2008-09)
Emeka C. Anen (2009-10)
Alvin Justin Rucker (2010-11)
Christopher Lyle (2011-12)
Joseph Bryant (2012-13)
Kelvin Anthony (2013-14)
Joey Blake (2014-2015)
Demetrius Pitts (2015-2016)